Mom Meals

So lately I’ve been thinking about how I NEED to get back on a healthier diet and exercise regime to lose my baby weight (from all 3 of them :-/ ) which also led me to thinking that my kids won’t eat a lot of the things I plan to start eating again, which also led me to thinking what they’ve been eating recently…which isn’t terrible, but not per se nutritious either…

Things that were quick and convenient: chicken nuggets, fish sticks, fries, sandwiches, hamburger helper, tuna helper, ya know…basically meals that don’t take long…I always of course throw a vegetable or 2 in there somewhere, and fruits, cheese breads too…trust me, they’re more than fed…anywho…

So basically, I’m now wondering what the “norm” is for other single moms, particularly ones like me who are going to school or working or even both, on meal preparations? Do you cook fast and easy, or healthier meals?

I would prefer to have my kids eat healthier meals like I plan on doing again soon, but I know they won’t eat a lot of the things I will be eating, so what I’ve usually done is make them similar, yet different things that are still healthy. My only concern is TIME. I never have enough time to make healthy meals it seems, but I need to make the time because my health and my children’s health are at stake. I ultimately would just like to have energy again to do things more often with my kids.

swimsuit-season-is-just-around-the-corner-unfortunately-so-is-14563372

Advice? I’m lost…hoping to come to a conclusion soon, “swimsuit season” is right around the corner, and lets just say, I’M NOT READY! 😛

Leave a comment